Soba Local Government Area


Soba Local Government was created in 1989 by the Former Military Administration headed by General Ibrahim Babangida (rtd).It was carved out of the former Zaria. By 1991 however Soba LGA was reduced in size with the creation of Sabon Gari Local Govt Area. Presently,Soba LGA comprises of two districts, Soba and Maigana districts with Maigana as the administrative headquarters of the LGA. It has an area of 2,234 km² and a population of 293,270 at the 2006 Census.

Administrative Structure

The Local Government is headed by either a Chairman(political era) or a Sole Administrator (Military era) like in other Local Governments.

The administrative structure of the Local Government shows that there are five departments namely:-

  1. Personnel Management Department
  2. Treasury department
  3. Works department
  4. Agricultural/Natural Resources department
  5. Health department

In each of the department, there are smaller divisions for the sake of efficient services.


Agriculture flourishes in the LGA with the presence of a large population of farmers. Both dry and Wet Season Farming exist.

Arts AND Culture

The people of the Area are predominantly embedded in Hausa culture, values, beliefs and festivals. However, there are cluster of other tribes who exhibit their own mode of culture notably Mangu tribe from Plateau state.

Pertaining to arts, the people of the Local Government are creative in terms of carving, weaving hair plaiting, etc. Calabash decorations of various fashions are always exhibited on market days.



The people of the Local Government partake in various forms of commercial activities. There are numerous markets. The biggest one is situated in soba town which yields revenue for the Government. The other notable market is situated in Tudun Saibu. In these markets various food and cash crops are sold.


There are eighty four (84) primary schools including two Arabic schools being managed by the Local Government Education Authority which is headed by a secretary. There are two Area offices located at Soba Central Primary School and Tudun Saidu.

Financial Institutions

The L.G.A have the following financial institutions:

1 N.U.B. Soba

2 People’s Bank Soba

3 N.A.C.B., Soba

4 Community Bank, Soba

Financial Resources

The financial resources of the L.G.A. include the following: Federal Government statutory allocation which is the main source and revenues from markets, Motor Parks, Slaughter, Slabs. Eating Houses, Forestry, Tender, Fees, Contract Fees, Cattle Markets, Property, Rating, Rent on Local Government house (quarters), Investments, Interests on fixed deposits, Allocation from State Government.

Geographical Features

The Local Government covers approximately 2955sq km and lies between latitude 90% and 110% North and longitude 70.00 3% North-East.

Soba L.G.A is bounded by Makarfi Local Government to the North, Sabon Gari and Zaria Local Government to the North-West, Igabi LGA .to the South-West, Kauru LGA to the South and Ikara LGA to the North-East respectively.

The Area has a typical tropical climate characterized by two distinct seasons that is dry and rainy seasons. The rainy season, like in most parts of the savannah (Sudan), extends from May-September where are the dry season covers the period of October to March. There is the cold, dry harmattan which accompanies the North-Eastern winds. This visits the Area usually from November to January.

There Area experiences rainfall, as earlier indicated, during rainy season which a mean annual rainfall of 1099.3mm. The highest temperature is recorded during the hot and dry periods, between February and April with a peak of Temporature of 102% F in April. Minimum T are recorded during the harmattan with lowest figure of 40F in December and January.

Government Agencies

There are various government agencies in the L.G.A Some of them are:

  1. Agency for mass literacy
  2. Special services department
  3. Immigration services office
  5. National Civil Registration Office
  6. Nigeria Police Force
  7. National Electric and Nigeria Population Commission

Health Facilities

Primary Health Centre, Soba, M.C.H. Clinic, Health Clinics at Fabachi, Burbabiya: Tama, Bamagina, Garu-Gwanki, Yalwa Makaranta, Turawa, Rahama, Danwata, Takalafiya, sharifai,Kaware, Gimba, Matari, Awai Yakasai, , Tudun Saibua, Dinya,

Kwasallo, Richifa, Maigana, Kinkiba, Marwa,Bagaldi, Taba, Tamba, Farinkasa,Yelwa Benenon , Madarzai, Sam-Birni and Suddu,


Rural industrial enterprises are found in Soba town and Tudun Saibu. A furniture making industries and a local leather processing industries were established by the people. A rice mill has been established by an individual and attached to the Kaduna Agricultural Development Project (KADP) Maigana Zone.


There are courts of differing grades but their precise status and locations could not be obtained before press deadline.

Mineral Resources

The Garu Forest Reserve Provides minerals resources like Gum Arabic etc. Also hides and skins and animal bones for chalk making are found in the LGA.It is hoped that with proper exploratory work, abundant mineral resources would be discovered in the LGA.


Hausas and Fulanis are the indigenous people.

16) Population

According to the 2006 population census, Soba LGA. has a total population of 291,173 people

Postel Address

The correspondence facility of the LGA is P.O.Box 8, Soba

Recreational Facilities/Sport

Various sporting activities abound in the L.G.A These include football, bicyle racing, horse riding and racing during Sallah celebration etc. As for football, the absence of a modern stadium and football fields hampers the development of this internationally acclaimed sporting activity.

Towns AND Villages

There are few towns in Soba LGA.due to its rural set up. They include Soba town,T/Saidu ,Giwa and Richifa. Many villages abound in the LGA. All together there are 33 villages with chiefs and 152 smaller village/hamlets. Under the past political dispensation in which Local Governments were divided into wards Soba LGA had 10 wards. These are: Soba, Rahama, Danwata Turawa, Gamagira, Maigana, Gimba, Richifa , Kwassallo, and Kinkiba wards.

Roads Network

There is a modern single carriage high way which passed through Soba LGA from Zaria to Jos and from Kaduna to Jos through Gamagira and Garbabaga villages. Apart from these highways, these tarred roads include the Soba-Turawa road, Soba-Ikara, Maigana-Gimba-Driya- Richifa road, Wanka-Kinkiba road,etc.

Tertiary Institutions:


Traditional Rulers

The following districts heads who are appointees of the Emir of Zazzau oversees the traditional set up:-

  1. The District Head of Soba.
  2. The District Head of Maigana.
  3. The District Head of Rahma
  4. The District Head of Gamagira
  5. The District Head of Yakasai
  6. The District Head of Richifa
  7. The District Head of Kwasallo